If your kid is one avid reader, chances are they make their means through every book of their favorite series long prior to the next one is published. The following time they complain the they have actually nothing to read, why not market them a novel that you enjoyed throughout your own childhood? they just can find us a brand-new favorite writer (and you’ll get that small thrill of nostalgia that comes from watching her child enjoy something you delighted in as a child).

You are watching: Books like where the red fern grows


*

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats that Nimh

Paperback $8.99

Add to Bag

Add come Bag

See All styles & execution ›


Mrs. Frisby and also the Rats the NIMH, through Robert C. O’BrienAs a kid, i was drawn to this publication by an initial seeing the 1982 movie, The secret of NIMH. It begins with an instantly gripping dilemma—Mrs. Frisby, a widowed field mouse, seeks aid to conserve her home and from a farmer’s plow. She can’t move due to the fact that her son Timothy is sick v pneumonia. She asks a team of escaped laboratory rats to aid her, and also learns that the experiments these rats underwent made them supervisor intelligent, qualified of reading and engineering a technologically advanced society.


*

The Headless Cupid, through Zilpha Keatley SnyderThis 1972 Newberry Honor book concerns a blended family—a novel ide for children’s books at the time. When his father marries a brand-new wife, the eleven-year-old protagonist, David Stanley, moves through his 3 younger siblings to a creepy old country house. This provides the perfect setting for his occult-obsessed brand-new stepsister, Amanda, come rile them every up v tales that a poltergeist the inhabits the house, and demonstrate that among the younger youngsters has psychic abilities. David thinks Amanda’s make it every up because that attention—or is she? If your kids like this one, there space three various other books around the Stanley family members for them come enjoy.


*

where the Red Fern grows

Paperback $8.99

Add to Bag

Add come Bag

See All layouts & editions ›


Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson RawlsSome civilization remember Bridge come Terabithia as the saddest novel they check out as a grade schooler, yet for me, Where the Red Fern Grows takes the prize. It’s just sad since it’s for this reason good—any son will be swept up in this vivid, evocative story around Billy Colman growing up poor in the Ozark hills of Oklahoma. Billy has actually his heart set on a pair of coonhounds, and he saves up money until he can buy them. Billy very closely trains his dog Old Dan and small Ann to hunt raccoons, developing an extreme bond v them in the process. Readers will type a similar bond through these dogs.


*

Power that Three, through Diana Wynne JonesWhen the Harry Potter novels an initial came out and I heard the premise that them, i thought, wait, a school for witches and wizards? That’s similar to Witch Week by Diana Wynne Jones. Wynne Jones was the premier brother fantasy novelist when I to be a kid, and also her publications should actors a spell end today’s center grade readers as they did over those in the ’80s. She wrote dozens of novels, countless of castle in the Chrestomanci series that presaged bother Potter. The stand-alone novel that ns remember many vividly is Power the Three, around three siblings life in a magic-imbued version of one English moor. 2 of the siblings find they have magical powers, if the third, Gair, believes he does not. The three are drawn into a search to save the moor by collaborating v their enemies, the Giants and the Dorig.

See more: False In One False In All - False In One, False In All


*

The Pushcart War, by Jean Merrill and Ronni SolbertThis funny novel through Jean Merrill through wonderful illustrations by Ronni Solbert has been endearing come generations of youngsters ever due to the fact that it was published in 1964. It’s called in the kind of a future historical report around a war that broke out in between truck companies and also pushcart owners. When traffic in new York City i do not care intolerable, the van companies acquire together and decide to remove all the other vehicles on the roads, start with pushcarts. Yet the feisty pushcart owner decide to strike back, assaulting the truck’s tires v pea shooters. Publishers have updated the day of the war from 1976 come 1988 come 2036 so new generations of youngsters get the future reference.

What MG novels from her childhood are you excited for your kids to read?